December 15, 2003

The Philadelphia Diesel Difference Workgroup Meeting
Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC)
Pennsylvania New Jersey Room
The Bourse Building
111 S. Independence Mall East, 8th Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19106


Kevin Benson, Fleetguard Emissions.
April Birnbaum, Air Management Services, Department of Public Health, Philadelphia.
Francine Carlini, PA DEP
Ray Chalmers, US EPA, Region III.
Eric Cheung, Clean Air Council/Clean Cities Program.
Bill Coughlin, Sunoco.
Michael DeFino, Rentar Environmental Solutions.
A.J. Dowd, National Railroad Passenger Corporation, Amtrak.
Ron Dunfee, Lubrizol.
Denise Earley, Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce.
Morris Fine, Air Management Services, Department of Public Health, Philadelphia.
Aaron Firestone, Clean Air Council.
Kirt Flowers, Amtrak Automotive Group.
Lionel Gillston, Diesel Engine Transformations.
Mark Gottlieb, Temple University.
John Hadalski, Managing Director's Office, Philadelphia.
Jack Lebeau, Rentar Environmental Solutions.
Roberta Perry.
Larry Rosen, Rentar Environmental Solutions.
Richard Ross, School District of Philadelphia.
Thomas Sandin, EkoBalans.
Jack Schweitzer, Amtrak Environmental.
Arleen Shulman, PA DEP.
Kevin Snape, Lubrizol.
Tom Sopko, Lubrizol.
Jienki Synn, DVRPC.
Chris Thomas, Managing Director's Office, Philadelphia.


Mr. Morris Fine, Director of Air Management Services, Department of Public Health, City of Philadelphia, welcomed all in attendance. Mr. Fine noted that the data for the impact of diesel particulate matter on public health in Philadelphia will be produced within the coming weeks, under the cooperation of EPA Region III.


Mr. Bill Coughlin, Chair of the Sub-Committee on Corporate Sponsorship, presented a report from the Criteria Sub-Committee. Mr. Coughlin introduced Ms. Denise Earley, Director of Public Policy for the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, who has graciously volunteered to assist the Corporate Sponsorship Program in its outreach to potential donors. Air Management Services and the Clean Air Council will partner through the EPA Mobile Source Outreach Grant, to supplement this outreach. Attached is a copy of the Corporate Sponsorship Report that was presented on December 15, 2003.


Mr. John Hadalski, Chair of the Sub-Committee on Criteria, presented a report from the Criteria Sub-Committee. This report includes recommendations for the determination of non-monetary recognition for fleets that implement clean diesel technologies and an accompanying Emissions Reduction Calculation Guide. These documents are the product of guidance provided by Working Group members within recent months. The Working Group voted to accept these recommendations, as motioned by Mr. Jack LeBeau and seconded by Mr. Bill Coughlin. The Working Group accepted this motion. Attached are copies of the recommendations and accompanying Emissions Reduction Calculation Guide that were presented on December 15, 2003.

A primary issue that emerged throughout the discussion of this report to the Workgroup was the issue of what pollutants to include in the calculation of emissions reduction. Currently, the document considers reductions in particulate matter and hydrocarbons. However, the Working Group proposed the inclusion of nitrous oxides, as they can contribute to the secondary formation of particulate matter. The Criteria Sub-Committee will address this issue at a later date.


Ms. April Birnbaum, Chair of the Sub-Committee on Mobile Source Emissions Reduction Credits, presented a report for the Sub-Committee on Mobile Source Emissions Reduction Credits. She noted that the Sub-Committee participated in a conference call on December 9, 2003, in which Mr. Kevin Snape volunteered to conduct introductory modeling for the emissions reduction credits that could result from a diesel retrofit project and their associated market value. A follow-up report to this modeling effort will be presented at the January Diesel Difference Workgroup Meeting.


Mr. Ray Chalmers, Chair of the Organizational Structure Sub-Committee, presented a report for the Sub-Committee on Organizational Structure. He stated that the Sub-Committee engaged in a productive meeting on December 1, 2003 and will schedule a second meeting to precede the January Diesel Difference Workgroup Meeting.


Mr. Eric Cheung of the Clean Air Council/Clean Cities Program updated the Working Group as to the status of the Clean Air Council's Non-Monetary Recognition Program. He plans to send a letter to diesel fleets in the coming weeks, notifying them of the non-monetary incentives that the Philadelphia Diesel Difference offers for implementing clean diesel technologies. Mr. Cheung and Mr. Aaron Firestone also continue to move forward in their construction of the Diesel Difference website, which can be found at http://www.cleanair.org/dieseldifference/.

Mr. Cheung also announced that the Department of Energy will be accepting grant applications for the installation of anti-idling devices on area diesel fleets. Applications for potential projects are due by mid-March of 2004. This grant opportunity will be administrated through the Greater Philadelphia Clean Cities Program, for which Eric Cheung is the Coordinator. Please contact Eric Cheung at echeung@cleanair.org for additional information on the application process. For information on anti-idling, please access http://www.epa.gov/otaq/retrofit/idling.htm.


Mr. Morris Fine introduced the "Clean Diesel Technology of the Month" as a new addition to our monthly Diesel Difference Workgroup Meeting. During this segment, a 15-20 minute presentation will showcase a specific type of clean diesel technology. The purpose of these presentations is to educate working group members on the structure and function of clean diesel technologies. Each type of clean diesel technology will have an opportunity to be discussed once during a "Clean Diesel Technology of the Month" segment. To request a presentation, please send an e-mail to Ms. April Birnbaum at April.Birnbaum@phila.gov.

For our first presentation, Mr. Kevin Snape discussed diesel particulate filters. This aftertreatment device can cause up to a 90% reduction in particulate matter, hydrocarbons, and carbon monoxide. Particulate filters can actively or passively regenerate and must be accompanied with ultra low sulfur or emulsified diesel fuel. In order to determine if and what type of a diesel particulate filter is appropriate for your vehicle, a fleet assessment should be performed. Please contact Kevin Snape at kesna@lubrizol.com for more information on particulate filters.


Ms. Arleen Shulman announced that the PA DEP's plan for the VEPCO settlement is due to the EPA by December 31, 2003.


The next Diesel Difference Workgroup Meeting will be held at 10:00 AM on January 21, 2004 at the Chapel Room at 30th Street Rail Station, 30th and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA, 19104.