July 7, 2004

Members in attendance: Kirt Flowers (Amtrak), Jienki Synn (DVRPC), John Hadalski (Managing Director's Office), Morris Fine (AMS), Eric Cheung (Clean Air Council), Ray Chalmers (U.S. EPA, Region III)

Subcommittee Chair: Ray Chalmers

Minutes taken by: Eric Cheung

(Note: Recommendations of the Sub-Committee are in bold)

Meeting began at 3 pm.

The Committee addressed two outstanding questions about how to fill the fleet representative position on the Executive Committee (Section III - Organizational Structure and Decision Making).

First, members considered whether only private fleets could serve as the existing language of the Philadelphia Diesel Difference Organization document currently sets forth. (Paragraph 3 of Section III). Upon a motion by Eric, seconded by Morris, the Sub-Committee unanimously agreed to strike out the words "private sector."

In addition, Morris felt there was uncertainty with the existing language saying that the fleet position must be filled by an "organization representing fleet operators/managers." In order to accommodate the possibility of having a fleet operator be the representative for all other fleets, Eric moved to accept the following language: "organization or a fleet operator representing fleet operators/managers." Kurt seconded this motion and the Sub-Committee approved it unanimously.

The second issue concerning the fleet position for the Executive Committee was formulating a process for determining who serves. After some discussion among the Sub-Committee members, Ray offered the following language to address this issue:

"The diesel fleet owner/operator that has a representative serving on the Executive Committee will be chosen from among the diesel fleet owner/operators who are members of the Diesel Difference workgroup. If several diesel fleet owner/operators volunteer to have representatives serve on the Executive Committee, the diesel/fleet owner/operator whose representative serves on the Executive Committee will be chosen by lot. That diesel fleet owner/operator's representative will serve for one year. A diesel fleet owner/operator shall not have a representative on the Executive Committee for consecutive years, unless that fleet owner/operator is the only one that volunteers to serve for the next year."

Eric moved to accept the language and Morris seconded. The recommended language passed unanimously. There is no explicit requirement that the fleet manager chosen to serve on the Executive Committee meet a minimum level of attendance at the Working Group meetings. Still the Sub-Committee members concluded that the Diesel Difference Working Group has the power to vote to remove a fleet or organization from the Executive Committee before its term has expired. They anticipate that a lack of attendance is a reason for such a removal.

The recommended changes to the Organizational Structure and Decision Making document will be presented to the Working Group at the July 19th meeting. If accepted, Philadelphia Diesel Difference will solicit the names of fleets and/or organizations interested in serving on the Executive Committee by email. The selected fleet or organization will be announced thereafter.

Meeting ended at 3:45 pm.